Five new judges, appointed as Supreme Court judges, to Swear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution today

Share on:

Today, the Supreme Court of India will welcome five new judges appointed by the Supreme Court Collegium that was shared on December 2022. On Saturday, President Droupadi Murmu appointed them after the Centre cleared the proposal taking the strength of the Supreme Court judges to 32 from 27 including the Chief Justice of India. The list of the five appointed judges including 3 Chief Justices of the High Court and two Judges of the High Court is as follows:

A recent tweet by Law Minister Kiren Rijiju congratulated all the newly appointed judges and conveyed his best wishes stating, “As per the provisions under the Constitution of India, Hon’ble President of India has appointed the following Chief Justices and Judges of the High Courts as Judges of the Supreme Court. I extend best wishes to all of them”.

On January 31, 2023, two more names were suggested by the Supreme Court Collegium, Justice Rajesh Bindal (Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court ) and Justice Aravind Kumar (Chief Justice of Gujarat High Court). After their selection as a Supreme Court judge, the Apex Court will function with its sanctioned strength. In the Court’s auditorium (in the new building complex), the oath-taking ceremony will be initiated which will be further presided over by the Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud. 

Earlier on February 3, 2023, the top Court bench questioned the Central Government regarding the delayed process of the judicial appointment. As the appointment of five Supreme Court judges is successful, the top Court will address a serious issue regarding the transfer orders for the High Court Judges in the next week. 

Also Read: Legal News